The bike is in a box

The act of putting my touring bike into a box in readiness for the flight to Vancouver on Tuesday was a defining moment. It packs up pretty well, albeit with a few extra bits of encouragement to fit it in the box. Plenty of packing tape applied to all corners end edges to ensure it doesn’t start the tour without me.

Now to finish sorting out what I’m going to pack. Can I keep the main bag to under 23kg’s?? I must keep reminding myself the more I take the more I have to lug around for 4 months.

Very excited now, only 2 days of work left. This time next week I will be in Pemberton, BC, with John’s family. We will have a couple of days to acclimatise, put my bike back together again, buy supplies etc before we head off to Vancouver Island.

20120425-162819.jpg

8 thoughts on “The bike is in a box

    • Hi Helen, thanks for your interest. Re bike packed up, are you wanting any more detail about that? I had the assistance of some reasonably good instructions as to how to go about it if you were interested. Alistair

  1. Hi Alistair,
    Sue Sutton from Logan, Vic., here, friend of the Coombes family. Tony has forwarded to you my parents’ details in Kamloops and they are very happy to have you stay with them. I will give them the canadothis link so they can follow your progress. All the best with the travels, it’s such a beautiful place isn’t it and the air is fantastic too! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

