Some bike stuff for a change

We had roughly estimated at the start of the trip we would ride approximately 7,500km but today I clocked up 7,000km and we still have until the last week of August of riding.

I get a few questions about how many sets of tyres I have worn out? How many punctures? etc. Well I have to say these original set of Schwalbe Marathon tyres are really doing a good job. They still have plenty of tread and I think will go the whole distance. Touch wood I don’t get any punctures either which would be amazing given some of the roads we have been on and stuff we have run over. The picture shows front and back tyre.

20120720-224747.jpg

20120720-224759.jpg

Unfortunately the Vittoria tyres on John’s bike haven’t worn as well and need replacing. No sooner had I thought about the blog story and reporting that neither of had a puncture I heard the call from behind “Hey Al I got my first puncture”.

20120720-225018.jpg

I love my gadgets as anyone who knows me will attest. This little “Suntactics” solar charger has been great to recharge the Garmin GPS battery, particularly on long days were we need to ensure we have enough charge to navigate to campgrounds etc.

20120720-225140.jpg

We have been on some rough roads, hit some pretty big holes etc but both bikes are standing up to the rigours really well and are comfortable to ride. I am riding a Vivente World Randonneur and John has a Kona Sutra.

3 thoughts on “Some bike stuff for a change

  1. Yes! Yes! Some deserved product placement here. What a couple of thoroughbreds there – the cycles I mean. Now some more of you two on the road together! Please Annie, pretty please

    Why should anyone steal a watch when he could steal a bicycle? ~ Flann O’Brien

    The bicycle is the most civilized conveyance known to man. Other forms of transport grow daily more nightmarish. Only the bicycle remains pure in heart. ~ Iris Murdoch

    When man invented the bicycle he reached the peak of his attainments. Here was a machine of precision and balance for the convenience of man. And (unlike subsequent inventions for man’s convenience) the more he used it, the fitter his body became. Here, for once, was a product of man’s brain that was entirely beneficial to those who used it, and of no harm or irritation to others. Progress should have stopped when man invented the bicycle. ~ Elizabeth West

    When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. ~ H.G. Wells

    When I go biking, I repeat a mantra of the day’s sensations: bright sun, blue sky, warm breeze, blue jay’s call, ice melting and so on. This helps me transcend the traffic, ignore the clamorings of work, leave all the mind theaters behind and focus on nature instead. I still must abide by the rules of the road, of biking, of gravity. But I am mentally far away from civilization. The world is breaking someone else’s heart. ~ Diane Ackerman

    … the bicycle is the most efficient machine ever created: Converting calories into gas, a bicycle gets the equivalent of three thousand miles per gallon ~ Bill Strickland, The Quotable Cyclist

  2. Yeah! My cycle converts calories into gas…. Perhaps Johnno was being pursued out West by a frisky skunk, not a coyote?

Leave a Reply

