Time to play “what crop is that?”

Ok you Aussies, what is the fruit crop pictured?

20120727-225820.jpg

I’m sure most of you got it right but for those like me who had no idea to start with, it is wild blueberry. Nova Scotia is one of the main producers (over 18 million kg) of wild blueberries in the world and is the number 1 Canadian fruit crop in export sales. I had initially thought a week or so ago when I first saw plant from the road that it was a very invasive weed, however I was later reassured it was blueberries. Today I ignored all of the “No Trespassing” signs to take a closer look just to satisfy my curiosity.

Sure enough there were plenty of berries but I still want to find out from someone how they manage this wild crop. I think I might get a chance tomorrow when we visit the Tatamagouche Market. Another interesting fact is wild blueberries are the number one source of antioxidants among fresh fruits and vegetables.

20120727-225922.jpg

It wasn’t just blue berries in this paddock. When you have to go you have to go, right. Well I will be paying a bit more attention as to where I go in the future. I had just finished taking the photo of the blueberries, which was also a convenient time to relieve myself. When I had finished I noticed this little fella less than a meter from me keenly attentive but not moving a muscle. Perhaps he could see a good reason for not moving!! Okay that was a bit crass but someone else was going to say it anyway.

20120727-225806.jpg
The pictures were taken in the hills between Truro and Tatamagouche, NS.

2 thoughts on “Time to play “what crop is that?”

Leave a Reply

